The Magic Of the Cinema

It almost seems as if the magic of going out to the cinema on a night out or a Saturday afternoon off has become a lost love. For decades, the cinema was the place to go for people of all ages, and whenever a new blockbuster was released the cinema would be packed for weeks. However these days, with prices on the increase and the introduction of video on demand services and illegal downloading, it seems less and less people are going out to the cinema.

popcorn-707364_1280

However, I still love going to the cinema, and hope that its popularity will increase once again. The experience you get when watching a film on a big screen cannot be compared with watching it at home. The effects aren’t as impressive, the stereo surround sound cannot be easily and accurately recreated even with recent technology, and in my opinion the immersion you feel when watching a film in a cinema cannot be matched. I believe everyone has at least one magic moment that they remember experiencing in a cinema, and that they remember the film they were watching at the time.

I also believe that certain genres of films were made to be seen on the big screen. Some examples being action, horror and also a good sci-fi movie. The special effects and visual ecstasy that leave you amazed and impressed just do not have the same effect when viewed on your small television screen at home or on a low quality illegal download watched on your laptop screen. You should give the creators of the film the respect to at least watch it how they believed it should be seen, and guaranteed you will enjoy it more this way too.

The last movie that I decided to go and see in the cinema was Interstellar, and I have to say that it was nothing short of amazing. I don’t remember the last time I left a cinema feeling so overwhelmed, and impressed. The visual effects were spectacular and made my jaw drop, and combined with the beautiful musical score of Hans Zimmer being blasted into my ears, I was completely immersed in the world and truly cared about the characters and what was happening to them. The flutters in my stomach at certain points in the film could not be recreated at home, and neither would the other aspects of the film have been as impressive. In fact if I compared my experience of the movie with someone who watched it for the first time while sat on their sofa at home, I’m sure the difference would have been astounding. I know which experience I’d choose every single time.

So there we have it, the reason that I still love going to the cinema and why I believe that everyone else should too. Because let’s be honest, who doesn’t enjoy sitting down with a large drink, a huge box of popcorn, and getting lost in the latest, brilliant film on a huge screen?

Leave a Reply

